NEH Digital Humanities Grant

This project seeks to build a scholarly community for the practice of the emerging field of Digital History by 1) enhancing communication and collaboration among scholars and journal editors; 2) creating model forms of scholarship and peer review; and 3) establishing a clearinghouse for all peer-reviewed Digital History scholarship. Digital History has grown up in the last fifteen years through and around the explosion of the World Wide Web, but historians have only just begun to explore what history looks like in the digital medium. Increasingly, university departments seek scholars to translate history into this fast-paced environment and to work in Digital History; however, they have found that without well-defined examples of digital scholarship, established best practices, and, especially, clear standards of peer review for tenure, few scholars have fully engaged with the digital medium. Our challenge now is to create a wider scholarly community around Digital History. View the grant narrative .

Presentation about the Digital History Project by Doug Seefeldt at the National Endowment for the Humanities in September 2010.

Blog entries containing materials directly related to the Sustaining Digital History meeting held on October 1, 2010 at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.

AHA's 126th Annual Meeting in Chicago, January 5-8, 2012

The Future is Here, a series at the 2012 AHA meeting, will feature numerous presentations and discussions on Digital History. See further information on two panels chaired by William G. Thomas, III and Douglas Seefeldt below.

Discussion/Roundtable-Panel: "Digital History: State of the Field"
Chair: William G. Thomas, U. of Nebraska
Panelists: Jon Christensen, Stanford U.; Jo Guldi, U. of Chicago; Andrew Torget, U. of North Texas
View panel abstract

Discussion/Roundtable-Panel: "The Future of History Journals in the Digital Age"
Chair: Douglas Seefeldt, U. of Nebraska
Panelists: Christopher Grasso, The College of William & Mary; David Rich Lewis, Utah State University; John F. McClymer, Assumption College; Abby Smith Rumsey, Scholarly Communication Institute; Stefan Tanaka, U. of California at San Diego; Allen Tullos, Emory U.
View panel abstract